Difference between revisions of "Initial description of purpose of 2012 Software Review"

From GlueXWiki
Jump to: navigation, search
(Created page with "Below is an e-mail sent out by Eugene Chudakov on Jan. 6, 2012 that contains an e-mail sent by Rolf Ent on Jan. 3, 2012. Both describe the initial vision of what the purpose and ...")
 
(No difference)

Latest revision as of 08:07, 12 January 2012

Below is an e-mail sent out by Eugene Chudakov on Jan. 6, 2012 that contains an e-mail sent by Rolf Ent on Jan. 3, 2012. Both describe the initial vision of what the purpose and general scope of the 2012 Software review might be.

The attachment that came with the e-mails can be seen here.


Last year JLab ran an internal review of the software development in
the halls and of the computing requirements for the 12 GeV program.

A larger review is scheduled tentatively for June 7-8 of 2012. See the
forwarded mail from Rolf and the attachment. Generally, the goal is to
make sure that the halls will be ready to analyze data as soon as the
beam arrives... Various things might be emphasized - the analysis
procedures including the alignment/calibration, the software
management, the current status, the results obtained with simulated
data etc.

The next discussion of the charge to the review with the Lab
management will take place on Jan 18. Please send me your comments
before that.

David Lawrence agreed to coordinate preparations for this review.

Best reagrds, Eugene
------------------------------------------------------
Eugene Chudakov
phone (757) 269 6959  fax (757) 269 6331
Thomas Jefferson National Accelerator Facility
12000 Jefferson Ave,
Newport News, VA 23606 USA

---------- Forwarded message ----------
Date: Tue, 3 Jan 2012 12:14:47 -0500 (EST)
From: Rolf Ent <ent@jlab.org>
To: Robert Michaels <rom@jlab.org>, John LeRose <lerose@jlab.org>,
    Volker Burkert <burkert@jlab.org>, Latifa Elouadrhiri <latifa@jlab.org>,
    Stephen A. Wood <saw@jlab.org>, Howard Fenker <hcf@jlab.org>,
    Eugene Chudakov <gen@jlab.org>, Elton Smith <elton@jlab.org>,
    Glenn Young <gyoung@jlab.org>, Graham Heyes <heyes@jlab.org>,
    Javier Gomez <gomez@jlab.org>, Chip Watson <watson@jlab.org>
Subject: 12 GeV Software review planning - electronic

Dear all,

    Please see attached the document passed around this morning
based upon Chip's input for what to expect/prepare for a review.
As mentioned, Chip, Javier and me are available for questions might
you wish to have any discussions on this with you/your user groups.
Also, I mailed Chip that our prefered dates are June 7 and 8, with
overflow if needed into a third day.

    We will mail you examples of a charge, a report, presentations,
a research management plan, etc., later this week, and also info on the
subsequent meeting January 18th or so.

                Best regards,    Rolf


_______________________________________________
GlueX mailing list
GlueX@dustbunny.physics.indiana.edu
http://dustbunny.physics.indiana.edu/mailman/listinfo/gluex